
Free One-on-One Consulting is Available 
Small business technical assistance centers are available throughout the State 
of California to provide you with direct one on one support at no cost to you. 

To find your nearest center, visit centers.calosba.gov 
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A retail store is engaged in selling products directly to consumers. The information provided below is 
intended for retailers of general merchandise. It is important to note that some items, such as 
alcohol, food, firearms, tobacco, and tires, are regulated beyond the information given in this Quick 
Start Guide 

AT THE STATE AND FEDERAL LEVEL: 
 

• California Retail Food Code – The California Health and Safety Code establishes requirements 
for food safety, including the hygiene, cleaning and sanitizing of equipment and utensils, food 
storage, and janitorial facilities. 

 
o Food Safety Program: 

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CEH/DFDCS/Pages/FDBPrograms/FoodSafet 
yProgram.aspx 

 
o Certifications: At least one employee must be certified in food safety by passing an 

approved Food Safety Certification examination, and all other employees involved in 
the preparation, storage, or service of food in a food facility must obtain a Food 
Handler Card. 

 
• Alcohol License – Businesses engaged in the sale of alcohol must obtain a license 

from the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC). 

o ABC Licensing: https://www.abc.ca.gov/licensing/apply-for-a-new-license/ 

• California Secretary of State (SOS) Filing – Not necessary for sole proprietors, but if you 
intend to form a corporation, limited liability company, or partnership; you must file with 
the SOS. 

o SOS Forms: http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/forms.htm. 
 

• Income Taxes – All businesses are required to file State income tax with the Franchise Tax 
Board (FTB) and Federal taxes with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS): 

o FTB: 
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/index.shtml?WT.mc_id=Global_Businesses_Tab 

o IRS:  https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed 
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• Sales & Use Tax – If you will be selling tangible property, consult the California Department of 
Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) for a Seller’s Permit. You may also qualify for a Resale 
Certificate. Note: These activities were formerly administered by the Board of Equalization 
(BOE). 

o Seller’s Permit info: http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/permits-licenses.htm 

o Resale Certificate info: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub103/ 

o Form for Resale Certificate: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/cdtfa230.pdf 

o Tax Information for Online Sales: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/ 

• For Employers – If your business will have employees, be advised of the following: 

o Wages, Hours, & Working Conditions – Businesses with employees must comply with 
laws establishing minimum standards for wages, hours, and working conditions. 
Consult the California Department of Industrial Relations website at: 
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/ 

o Worker’s Compensation – Businesses with employees must maintain Worker’s 
Compensation Insurance coverage. Consult the California Department of Industrial 
Relations website 
At: https://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/ 

o Employment Development Department (EDD) Registration – An employer is required to 
file a Registration Form within 15 days after paying more than $100 in wages to one or 
more employees. Please consult the California EDD website at 
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm#b 
usiness_sub ject. 

o Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) – Employers with employees, business 
partnerships, and corporations, must obtain a Federal EIN from the IRS. Businesses can 
obtain appropriate federal income tax forms from this location. Please consult the IRS 
website at: https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-
id-numbers 

 
 

AT THE LOCAL LEVEL: 
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• Business License – Most local governments require a business license (or business tax 
registration). If your business is in incorporated city, contact the city. If your business is in 
unincorporated area, contact the county. 

• Zoning – Whether yours will be a home-based business or will occupy commercial space, 
consult your local planning department to be sure your business activities are permitted. If 
your business is in incorporated city, contact the city. If your business is in unincorporated 
area, contact the county. 

• Fictitious Business Name – A Fictitious Business Name or Doing Business As (DBA) statement is 
required when: the business name does not include the surname of the individual owner(s) 
and each of the partners; the business name suggests the existence of additional owners; or 
the nature of the business in not evident by the name of the business. This is always obtained 
from the county in which a business is located. 

• Small Business Development Center – You can also check in with your local Small Business 
Development Center (SBDC) as well. The SBDCs assist small businesses in starting or growing and 
offer free advice and consulting. To find an SBDC closest to you, click this link and enter your zip 
code: http://americassbdc.org/home/find-your-sbdc/, they may be better equipped to advise 
you on local requirements. 

• Charitable Solicitation Requirements – Many California cities and counties have passed 
charitable solicitation ordinances to protect their citizens against fraudulent solicitation. These 
ordinances may require charities and charitable fundraisers to register, certify their tax- 
exempt status, obtain a license to solicit, and file accountings of fundraising proceeds. Most 
California counties and large cities maintain a charitable solicitation licensing office. It may be a 
separate department or part of the police or sheriff’s department. For city and county contact 
information, please contact them. 

ONLINE PERMIT ASSISTANCE TOOL: 

You can use our online permit assistance tool, CalGOLD (www.calgold.ca.gov), to identify local, state, 
and federal permit information for businesses. The online tool provides webpage links, application 
forms, and contact information for the various agencies that administer and issue these permits. For 
permits and registrations administered by the State of California, CalGOLD also includes a Forms and 
Fee Finder with direct links to applications and fee information. Once at the website, input your city and 
type of business. If your business is not listed, you can select "General Business Information” for a list of 
general requirements. 

https://centers.calosba.ca.gov/
http://americassbdc.org/home/find-your-sbdc/
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CONSIDERATIONS: 

This Quick Start Guide is only one source of information among the many sources that are available to 
you. You may wish to consider multiple sources in order to make an informed decision. You are solely 
responsible for making a decision about how to form and create your business. You are responsible for 
determining whether the information you obtain through your use of this Guide is suitable for your 
purposes. 

 
Although we go to great lengths to make sure our information is accurate and useful, we 
recommend you consult a lawyer if you want legal advice or any other individual or service provider 
for specific guidance. We offer this for informational purposes only. 

PROP 65: 

Proposition 65, officially known as the Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986, requires 
businesses to provide a clear and reasonable warning before knowingly and intentionally exposing 
anyone to chemicals that are known to cause cancer or birth defects or other reproductive harm. It is 
important to know that a product that receives certification from the United States Food and Drug 
Administration, or another federal agency or state agency, is not necessarily exempt from California 
requirements for chemical exposure warnings. Businesses should be aware of the levels of harmful 
chemicals in their products and of applicable Proposition 65 requirements. For more information on 
Proposition 65 and how to comply with its requirements, please visit 
https://oehha.ca.gov/proposition-65 

https://centers.calosba.ca.gov/
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